Facts and Figures 2014-15

The Yale School of Medicine is one of the world’s leading centers for biomedical research, advanced clinical care, and medical education. It ranks sixth among medical schools receiving funds from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and second in NIH dollars per faculty member. More than 1,200 Yale physicians provide care to patients from across the region and around the world. The Yale system of medical education, with its emphasis on critical thinking and independent student research, has produced leaders in every field of academic medicine. 

The sixth-oldest medical school in the United States, it was chartered by the Connecticut General Assembly in 1810 as the Medical Institution of Yale College, located first on Grove Street, then at 150 York Street. Since 1924, it has occupied Sterling Hall of Medicine at 333 Cedar Street and surrounding buildings. It has awarded 8,697 medical degrees since 1814. There are 5,664 living alumni with MD degrees, 4,419 with MPH degrees, and 1,110 alumni of the Physician Associate Program with the PA-C certificate or MMSc degree.

Academic departments

Basic science10
Public Health5
Programs and centers6

Faculty 1

Teaching (ladder)1,474

Associates & fellows

Postgraduate/postdoctoral fellows and associates1,589

Memberships 2

National Academy of Sciences62
Institute of Medicine41
HHMI investigators17
Faculty holding endowed professorships123

1 Faculty, associates, and fellows data as of 6/30/14

2 Includes faculty across Yale University

All data in Facts & Figures as of 6/30/14, unless otherwise noted.

Brief Chronology

1701—Yale College founded

1723—Yale College awards first medical degree (honorary) in North America

1810—Medical Institution of Yale College chartered

1811—Nathan Smith, Benjamin Silliman, Eneas Munson, and Jonathan Knight are recruited as founding faculty

1813—Classes begin with 37 students enrolled in the six-month program; tuition for full course of lectures is $50

1833—The State Hospital, precursor to the New Haven Hospital, opens

1839—MD student thesis requirement formalized

1857—First African American student graduates

1910—Flexner Report recommends Yale as one of two New England medical schools worthy of continued existence, spurring expansion of facilities, fundraising, and fulltime faculty system

1915—Department of Public Health established and later accredited as a school of public health

1916—First female students admitted

1920—Milton C. Winternitz named dean, beginning period of major expansion and creation of Yale system of medical education

1924—School moves from 150 York Street to Sterling Hall of Medicine at 333 Cedar Street

1941—Yale Medical Library is dedicated

1945—The New Haven Hospital merges with Grace Hospital, becoming Grace-New Haven Community Hospital

1955—Edward S. Harkness Hall opens, providing dormitory and dining facilities

1963—Coat of Arms adopted

1965—Medical school and hospital revise their affiliation, creating Yale- New Haven Hospital

1966—Connecticut Mental Health Center opens as partnership between Yale and state of Connecticut

1970—Physician Associate Program founded

1974—Yale Cancer Center established 1981 Yale Faculty Practice Plan formed, precursor to Yale Medical Group

1991—Boyer Center for Molecular Medicine completed

1993—Yale-New Haven Children’s Hospital opens

2003—Anlyan Center completed

2007—Amistad Street building opens

2007—West Campus acquired

2009—Smilow Cancer Hospital at Yale-New Haven opens

2010–11—Medical school celebrates 200th anniversary 

2012—YNHH acquires the Hospital of Saint Raphael